Docker image for 3.2 appears broken

When things doesn't work as they should.
Post Reply
jere
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2019 2:02 pm

Docker image for 3.2 appears broken

Post by jere » Thu Jun 13, 2019 2:11 pm

First off, I love Mayan even if I am still trying to figure it out.

Second, after upgrading from the 3.1.10 tag to the 3.2 tag, it won't start any more. The log shows that it complains of a missing python package, specifically the appearance package.

I also notice that the 3.2 image is almost 100 megabytes smaller than the 3.1.10 image. Maybe there is some stuff missing?

Thanks!

KevinPawsey
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 2:52 pm

Re: Docker image for 3.2 appears broken

Post by KevinPawsey » Thu Jun 13, 2019 2:50 pm

As much as I hate "me too"'s .... but me too... it does definitely appear to be broken.

Hopefully it will be fixed soon... in the meantime I my have to revert back to using the 3.1 tag for now.
Running Mayan-EDMS on: OpenMediaVault, (Docker plugin), on x86 dual-core

User avatar
rosarior
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2018 3:28 am

Re: Docker image for 3.2 appears broken

Post by rosarior » Thu Jun 13, 2019 4:08 pm

Thanks for the report. This version has many big changes like Python 3 supports and seems we missed a few things the tests didn't catch. We are on it.

User avatar
rosarior
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2018 3:28 am

Re: Docker image for 3.2 appears broken

Post by rosarior » Thu Jun 13, 2019 4:33 pm

Can you post screenshots of the errors? We are not getting any package errors in the logs with the Docker image.

jere
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2019 2:02 pm

Re: Docker image for 3.2 appears broken

Post by jere » Thu Jun 13, 2019 9:44 pm

Here's the output that I see:

Code: Select all

mayan: starting entrypoint.sh
mayan: changing uid/guid
usermod: no changes
mayan: os_package_installs()
mayan: pip_installs()
mayan: upgrade()
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/opt/mayan-edms/bin/mayan-edms.py", line 10, in <module>
execute_from_command_line(sys.argv)
File "/opt/mayan-edms/local/lib/python2.7/site-packages/django/core/management/__init__.py", line 364, in execute_from_command_line
utility.execute()
File "/opt/mayan-edms/local/lib/python2.7/site-packages/django/core/management/__init__.py", line 338, in execute
django.setup()
File "/opt/mayan-edms/local/lib/python2.7/site-packages/django/__init__.py", line 27, in setup
apps.populate(settings.INSTALLED_APPS)
File "/opt/mayan-edms/local/lib/python2.7/site-packages/django/apps/registry.py", line 85, in populate
app_config = AppConfig.create(entry)
File "/opt/mayan-edms/local/lib/python2.7/site-packages/django/apps/config.py", line 94, in create
module = import_module(entry)
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/importlib/__init__.py", line 37, in import_module
__import__(name)
ImportError: No module named appearance

User avatar
rosarior
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2018 3:28 am

Re: Docker image for 3.2 appears broken

Post by rosarior » Fri Jun 14, 2019 1:40 am

Thanks for the debug output. "appearance" is one of the core app of Mayan. In this version the apps need to be referenced by their full path and not just the name. Edit the "config.yml" in the "media" folder and update the app names with the prefix "mayan.apps.". Here are more details: https://docs.mayan-edms.com/releases/3. ... le-changes

If you are using the Docker image and haven't done any configuration changes beyond setting the basic (database parameters). You can delete the "config.yml" file and it will be re-created with correct values.

The image is smaller due to improvements in the creation of the image.

jere
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2019 2:02 pm

Re: Docker image for 3.2 appears broken

Post by jere » Sat Jun 15, 2019 7:04 pm

Yup. Deleting the config.yaml let it start up.

Thanks!

daniel1113
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2018 2:32 pm

Re: Docker image for 3.2 appears broken

Post by daniel1113 » Tue Jun 18, 2019 1:01 pm

How about those of us loading a custom settings module with Docker (e.g., MAYAN_SETTINGS_MODULE=mayan_settings.settings_ldap)? Something is now broken. Is there a new way to import the base settings?

Code: Select all

from mayan.settings.production import *

Post Reply