where to add code for auto assignment of metadata

Requests for new functionality or improvements in existing functionality. Please provide clear descriptions of your request, an example or if possible a real life scenario.
bradyhurst

where to add code for auto assignment of metadata

Post by bradyhurst » Sat Nov 16, 2019 7:23 pm

Hello - I'm new to Mayan and just purchased the book to get started, but haven't found a way to do what I want to do yet.
I did get up and running with the docker container and was able to set up a watch folder source and some document types.

The initial goal of my project is:
1 - Various document types are scanned to dedicated shared folders from different scanners around the building. For this example, I'll use the work order document type.
2 - the work order has a meaningless but unique file name and comes in as a clear PDF with a key value barcode in the upper left corner of the cover page as well as various reliable key fields that can be OCR'd.
3 - I'd like the meta data assignment and indexing process to be automatic such that the system reads the file, OCR's it decodes a barcode (if the document type has one) and then assigns metadata based on regex or grep run against the ocr OR some custom python that uses the bardode to look up other stuff via ODBC.

I've been doing this for years with one document type, "CofC" where the documents are all just dumped in one big folder, OCR'd, and then Windows file indexing and search is used to find what we want. This actually works pretty reliably, but obviously the interface leaves something to be desired. Windows also makes indexed file search over a network on a domain pretty unpleasant to setup and maintain these days.