Hierarchy / Organizational assistance

Questions, comments, discussions. Over time certain topics might be moved to their own category.
jeremymorel

Hierarchy / Organizational assistance

Post by jeremymorel »

Greetings to all! I am honored to find that I'm the first to use the new forum (aside from our esteemed admin, Mr. Rosario! :D )
I'm a developer, and have been following this project for some time, (and someday hope to contribute some value.) I have decided to implement version 3+ at home in order to go paperless, and have encountered some challenges. I am using the Docker implementation, (which I know has some small differences). I've searched the current (former?) forum extensively to try to find an answer, but can not, so please forgive me if this is a re-tread.

My question relates to both overall hierarchy and functionality. It is entirely possible that I am approaching organization wrong, so please allow me to express my intent, and feel free to tell me if I've got it all wrong!:

I'd like to start mass-scanning all of my documents to watched folders and ultimately have them land in a structure that is logical for both browsing and searching. After assessing the patterns available, (Cabinet, Document Type, Tags, Metadata etc.), I'm not certain where to base my focus, but believe that Type and Tag (or create a metadata type such as "Sub category") may be appropriate. In this case, a document type would be "Financial", then a tag could be "Receipt".

My setup is so that I will scan documents to appropriate watch folders based on document classification. So far, I've established document types for, "Financial" "Home", and "Medical". I would like to establish watch folders with a more detailed level of specificity, (i.e., "Receipt", "Tax Information" or "Banking", and have documents which come into each folder be processed and classified with a document type (in this case "Financial") and then receive the subcategory classification (i.e. Receipt).