Page 1 of 1

Automatic Document Renaming

Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 9:37 am
by jevgl
Throwing this one out there:
Automatic Document Renaming

anybody played around with this?
mayan-document_renaming 1.0.0

is it reliable.
in would be interesting to hear some feedback about this or any other "plugins" that you guys are using.

Kind regards

Re: Automatic Document Renaming

Posted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 8:34 pm
by rosarior
Hi @jevgi,

The document renaming app was deprecated and it's functionality added to the core Mayan as a workflow action.

Create a workflow with two states (A & B). Trigger a transition to the state B when on the document properties edit event. Add a document rename action to the B state and in the template use any property of the document to build the new document label structure. Anything that can be use in the index templates is also available in the rename action template (tags, cabinets, smart links, metatada, upload date time, etc).

We did this because it was a lot of work maintain separate plugins. Same with fork, that is why we are consolidating all features of forks into a single codebase.

Example, topic about the UX/UI consolidation and new UI features: viewtopic.php?f=2&p=846#p846

Best regards.

Re: Automatic Document Renaming

Posted: Tue Mar 12, 2019 1:01 am
by majerus
@rosarior I tried to create this however when trying to create the 'rename' action all i see is this? Am I missing something?

Thanks!

Image

Re: Automatic Document Renaming

Posted: Tue Mar 12, 2019 4:35 am
by rosarior
Use "Modify the properties of the document". On the "Label" use a template that like you would for an index.
Example: Invoice-{{ document.metadata_value_of.invoice_number }}

Re: Automatic Document Renaming

Posted: Tue Mar 12, 2019 9:22 pm
by majerus
Thanks for that it makes sense. I think I am running into an issue where documents are not entering a workflow. I have the workflow configured for 'document types' of 'warranty. I then added the documents to that type however they are not showing in the workflow. Is there something else required to start the workflow?

Re: Automatic Document Renaming

Posted: Wed Apr 03, 2019 1:10 pm
by HarryE
I have the same issue of new documents not being assigned to workflow.
There should be a manual add/remove/restart to/from workflow action available in the document workflow contextual menu.